North Stars’ Cody Bruchkowski named 2019-20 SIJHL MVP

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Thunder Bay North Stars forward Cody Bruchkowski has been named the SIJHL’s Mallon’s Promotional Clothing & Products/Play It Again Sports Most Valuable Player for the 2019-20 season.

Bruchkowski earned the accolades over fellow MVP finalists Zach Willms of the Red Lake Miners and Jack Michels of the Thief River Falls Norskies, in voting completed by each of the league’s member clubs.

The 20-year-old Cochenour, Ont., product becomes the fourth North Stars player in SIJHL history to garner the laurels, joining Daniel Del Paggio (2013-14), two-time recipient Trevor Gamache (2009-10 & 2010-11) and Nathan Breukelman (2004-05).

Bruchkowski has had a tremendous campaign, racking up 58 goals and assisting on 36 others for 94 points while helping his side wrap-up the league’s regular season title.

His tally total with Thunder Bay ties him for the most in the entire Canadian Junior Hockey League this season and once adding in the five he collected with the Brockville Braves (CCHL) he has scored the most markers in the 131-team CJHL with 63.

In 50 outings since joining the North Stars, he has only been held off the game sheet on four occasions.

The 58 goals Bruchkowski has scored this season, is the third-highest total for a single campaign in league tenure.

Bryce Young produced 60 for the Red Lake Miners last season while the SIJHL record of 69 was set Kory McEwen with the North Stars back in 2005-06.

With the MVP honour, Bruchkowski becomes the SIJHL’s nominee for the CJHL Player of the Year Award.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time Most Valuable Player recipients:

2019-20: Cody Bruchkowski, Thunder Bay North Stars
2018-19: Bryce Young, Red Lake Miners
2017-18: Jacen Bracko, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2016-17: Braeden Allkins, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Dylan Robertson, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Cole Golka, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2013-14: Daniel Del Paggio, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Mike Dietrich, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Byron Katapaytuk, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Jon Mitchell, Dryden Ice Dogs
2009-10: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Quinn Amiel, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Justin Gvora, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Chris Bryson, Schreiber Diesels
2004-05: Nathan Breukelman, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder
2002-03: Trevor Karasiewicz, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Charly Washipabano, Feathermen Hawks

Photo credit: Leith Dunick,